About ITIL®


ITIL has now been around for 25 years; that’s 25 years of work and refinement that makes ITIL the most widely accepted approach to service management in the world. AXELOS have recently worked with a number of the leading IT service management professionals to put together a compelling list of reasons why an organisation should adopt ITIL and why ITSM professionals should make sure they hold the ITIL qualifications.

The “Key Benefits of ITIL” looks at both the capabilities of the ITIL Framework and the benefits that ITIL provides to the individual and to the organisation. From enabling business change, to showing value for money and optimising the customer experience, the AXELOS document shows why ITIL should be adopted as part of an organisation’s framework for service management excellence.

The key benefits arising from each of the capabilities are also listed, so that you can clearly see how ITIL aids the IT department in supporting the business. Additionally, the importance of ITIL to the individual is also examined – looking at how you can learn and improve your own knowledge and deliver value to your organisation.

To take a look at the PDF from Axelos – “Key Benefits of ITIL


The ITIL framework is split into 5 core sections:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

These sections are documented in five volumes which cover the ITIL service lifecycle, beginning with identification of customer needs and ending with an evaluation and improvement stage.


There are five levels of ITIL certification:

  •  ITIL Foundation Level
  •  ITIL Practitioner Level
  •  ITIL Intermediate Level
  •  ITIL Expert Level
  •  ITIL Master Level

These levels gradually give you a deeper understanding of ITIL. The level you go up to entirely depends on you and your organisation’s need to better understand the ITIL framework. The Foundation level will offer you a general understanding of the key elements, concepts and terminology of the ITIL life cycle, including how each stage links to one another and their wider contribution to service management.

Expert and master levels are for those who want to demonstrate knowledge of ITIL in its entirety, including the ability to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of how and why you have personally implemented ITIL frameworks in your organisation. The levels in between help build on the knowledge you gained during the Foundation level. More information can be found on the individual training pages.


You can read more about the certification and the ITIL Credit Scheme on the AXELOS website.